Rock & roll-of-film

Music has always played a special role in my life. It is a resort, or a safe-heaven if you will, from the worries of everyday life. I must confess that my guitars have been heavily neglected in the recent years and they are probably looking jealously from the corner of the room at my camera and lenses which get much, much more attention nowadays.

Nevertheless, headphones are basically like an artificial limb attached to me most of the day. I love to explore the world of music, and I get absolutely thrilled when I come across a great song or an inspiring talent.

Momento is a Slovenian rock band that has been rapidly climbing up on the Slovenian music scene. I love their music, I admire their talent and their endless will to push forward, but probably most of all the energy the guys are radiating either on stage or when you just hang out with them. You can find out more about the band at: www.momento.si

In June they asked me if I could spare some time for a photo session with them as they needed some material for the promotion of their upcoming album called Era. After the usual brainstorming about the concepts, scenes, locations we finally got on the set. I wanted to create a kind of a dramatic feel.

The first location was a passage full of graffiti. Kind of a standard location for a rock band you might say. Indeed. That’s what made me think about what we could do to spice it up. Dramatic lighting. That’s it. Semi-hard light on them and a couple of bare flashes behind on the floor to get a sort of an “aura” effect on the walls of the tunnel. At the same time I wanted the back of the tunnel completely dark, to create this feel of infinite length.

The second location: a train. But putting the guys in a cargo wagon wasn’t enough for me. What if… What if we could get them on top of the train. That could be cool. It would give this ominous feeling of breaking the laws a bit. After checking my theory in practise, it turned out that the location looked just amazing. As the French would say: “On y va!”. The guys were easy to work with and no questions asked they climbed up, even though that was not really the easiest task, since we had no ladders with us.

The afternoon was fun and full of laughter and a job well done just called for a beer at a nearby pub.

Leave a comment